COURSE REQUIREMENTS

Fall 2025	Winter 2026	Spring 2026
271A Industrial Organization, Price Policies, and Regulation I Professor Will Rafey	271B Industrial Organization, Price Policies, and Regulation II Professor John Asker	271C Mathematical Theory in Industrial Organization Professor Martin Hackmann
		272A Topics in Industrial Organization Professor Michael Rubens

FIELD REQUIREMENTS

Students who choose IO as a field are required to meet the following requirements by the end of the second year:

- Take three courses listed above and pass them with a grade of B+ or better.
- Regularly attend the IO workshop and proseminar
- Submit the field paper by July 31st, 2026 and receive a passing grade.

ADDITIONAL GUIDELINES

- An IO field paper can be either an original research paper or a survey paper with research proposal.
- Co-authorship of field papers is permitted but must be approved by the advisor in advance.
- When appropriate, a student may submit an IO field paper that is also being used to satisfy a paper requirement for another field. In such cases, the student must obtain prior approval from the advisors in both fields.
- In some borderline cases in which a student does not satisfy some requirement, the instructors will reach a final determination based on the entirety of the work completed.
- Co-authorship of high quality second year field papers is permitted and actively encouraged. Each student should submit the paper separately, together with a joint statement verifying that the work comprised an equal contribution on the part of all co-authors.

Here is a rough timeline of what you are expected to do regarding your IO field paper:

- Choose your advisor (see the list below) and start discussing ideas in January.
- Meet with your advisor along with other relevant faculty (in particular, those who you wish to serve on your committee).
- [OPTIONAL] Present your field paper in IO proseminar in Spring.
- Submit your field paper to Chiara Paz (chiara@econ.ucla.edu) by email by deadline of July 31st, 2026.

IO FACULTY

John Asker, Martin Hackmann, Hugo Hopenhayn, Will Rafey, Michael Rubens